Date: 25th April 2021 at 8:21pm
Written by:

The history of Lincoln City and Shrewsbury Town dates back only to 1950, when Shrewsbury somewhat surprisingly gained admission to the Football League for the first time. The Shrews had largely been a small-time Birmingham & District League side until the Second World War, shortly before which they moved up a level to the Midland League. They won the Midland League title in 1946 and 1948, and were regular but unsuccessful applicants for Football League membership at that time. However, the Football League decided to extend the Third Division North and South divisions by a total of four clubs in 1950; after a convoluted voting procedure, Shrewsbury Town and Scunthorpe & Lindsey United were accepted into the Northern section.

As things stand, Shrewsbury have a slight edge with 19 wins to Lincoln’s 17, and 11 draws. Interestingly, the two clubs have been drawn together on four occasions in the Football League Trophy since 1991 yet have never met in either the FA Cup or the League Cup. Playing connections have been numerous, with John Cornforth, Julian Watts, Devon White, Mark Sertori, Gary Megson, Tony Lormor, Mark Stallard, Derek Asamoah, Leo Fortune-West, Matt Gilks, Kris Bright, Waide Fairhurst, Joe Anyon, Josh Ginnelly, James Caton, Louis Dodds, Lenell John-Lewis, Jon Nolan, Lee Angol and Luke Waterfall appearing for both clubs in the last thirty years.

Have a go at our Lincoln City v Shrewsbury Town Quiz below:

1 of 15

Which Shrewsbury player disastrously decided not to sign for Lincoln at the start of the momentous 2016-17 season and joined relegation-bound Southport instead?

Click for the forum

Your Comment