Date: 29th April 2021 at 7:28pm
Written by:

Lincoln and Peterborough seem to have been rivals since time began, yet it only really began when Peterborough won election to the Football League in 1960. They had met for the first time in 1956-57 in an FA Cup tie, when the Second Division Imps were expected to beat their ambitious Midland League opponents; it did not go to plan, with Peterborough winning a nine-goal thriller at Sincil Bank after a 2-2 draw at London Road. Since then, the two have met regularly in the Football League’s bottom two divisions. Peterborough hold the advantage, with 20 wins to Lincoln’s 14.

Playing links between the clubs have traditionally been strong, with Peter Costello, Worrell Sterling, Tony Lormor, Ben Sedgemore, Martin Carruthers, Dave Regis, John Cornforth, Francis Green, Drewe Broughton, Ritchie Hanlon, Jae Martin, Jason Lee, Neale Fenn, Ciaran Toner, Ryan Semple, Guy Branston, Richard Logan, Peter Gain, Jamie Hand, Lee Thorpe, Richard Butcher, Ben Futcher, Simon Yeo, Mark Bailey, Rene Howe, Jeff Hughes, Dean Keates, Lee Frecklington, Sergio Torres, Barry Richardson, Michael Bostwick, Robert Olejnik, Harry Anderson, Scott Loach, Alan Sheehan, Lee Angol, Harry Toffolo, Danny Lloyd, Joe Ward, Alex Woodyard and Mark O’Hara appearing for both sides in the last thirty years.

Have a go at our Lincoln City v Peterborough United Quiz below:

1 of 15

In which year were Peterborough United formed?

Click for the forum

Your Comment