Date: 16th April 2021 at 11:22am
Written by:

Bristol Rovers arrived in the Football League with the formation of the new Third Division in 1920 after years of anonymity in the Southern League. Due to the geographical divide of Divisions Three North and South, Lincoln and Rovers had to wait until 1953 for their first meeting, when City won 1-0 at Eastville in the Second Division. Since then, Rovers have built an advantage with twenty-one wins to sixteen overall.

Players to have appeared for both clubs during the last thirty years include Dennis Bailey, Worrell Sterling, Paul Miller, Jamie Clapham, Guy Ipoua, Ciaran Toner, Kevin Austin, Junior Agogo, Aaron Lescott, Lee Thorpe, Jamie Forrester, Jefferson Louis, Anthony Pulis, Jeff Hughes, John Akinde, Cian Bolger, Rene Howe, Mustapha Carayol, Craig Stanley, Guy Branston, Nathan Blissett, Tom Davies, Bernard Mensah, Sam Slocombe and Josh Ginnelly. Goalkeepers Steve Book and Adam Smith both failed to make an appearance while on Lincoln’s books.

Have a go at our Lincoln City v Bristol Rovers Quiz below:

1 of 15

By which name were Bristol Rovers known between 1884 and 1899?

Click for the forum

Your Comment