Date: 11th June 2018 at 6:17pm
Written by:

Lincoln City will be ball number 17 in the Northern Section of the Carabao Cup First Round Draw.

The draw for the First Round of the Carabao Cup will take place on Friday, 15th June at 10:45am.

Steve McManaman, Louis Saha and Dennis Wise will be heading to Vietnam as the Carabao Cup goes back on the road. The Round One draw set to take place from Vietnam’s largest city, Ho Chi Minh City.

McManaman, Saha and Wise will join representatives from the English Football League and competition partner Carabao Energy Drink to unveil the 35 Round One ties. Live text coverage will be available on the Carabao Cup Twitter feed and

West Bromwich Albion are included in the draw, while Championship newcomers Swansea City and Stoke City will join the competition in Round Two, alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

I wouldn’t mind seeing us drawn away against a number of Clubs, such as Barnsley or Sheffield United, simply because I have never been to either of their Stadiums before! However, if we are drawn at home, I would like to see us up against absolutely anyone. We’re due another Cup run, right? Since Danny and Nicky Cowley took over, we have been on runs in the FA Cup, the FA Trophy and we have won the Checkatrade Trophy. I’m not being greedy, am I? It would simply mean more money in the bank!

North Section Draw Numbers:

1. Accrington Stanley
2. Barnsley
3. Blackburn Rovers
4. Blackpool
5. Bolton Wanderers
6. Bradford City
7. Burton Albion
8. Bury
9. Carlisle United
10. Crewe Alexandra
11. Derby County
12. Doncaster Rovers
13. Fleetwood Town
14. Grimsby Town
15. Hull City
16. Leeds United
17. Lincoln City
18. Macclesfield Town
19. Mansfield Town
20. Middlesbrough
21. Morecambe
22. Nottingham Forest
23. Notts County
24. Oldham Athletic
25. Port Vale
26. Preston North End
27. Rochdale
28. Rotherham United
29. Scunthorpe United
30. Sheffield United
31. Sheffield Wednesday
32. Shrewsbury Town
33. Sunderland
34. Tranmere Rovers

South Section Draw Numbers:

1. AFC Wimbledon
2. Aston Villa
3. Birmingham City
4. Brentford
5. Bristol City
6. Bristol Rovers
7. Cambridge United
8. Charlton Athletic
9. Cheltenham Town
10. Colchester United
11. Coventry City
12. Crawley Town
13. Exeter City
14. Forest Green Rovers
15. Gillingham
16. Ipswich Town
17. Luton Town
18. Millwall
19. Milton Keynes Dons
20. Newport County
21. Northampton Town
22. Norwich City
23. Oxford United
24. Peterborough United
25. Plymouth Argyle
26. Portsmouth
27. Queens Park Rangers
28. Reading
29. Southend United
30. Stevenage
31. Swindon Town
32. West Bromwich Albion
33. Wycombe Wanderers
34. Yeovil Town

Matches are scheduled to take place on the week commencing 13th August.


– EFL clubs have voted to remove extra time from every round, apart from the Final, from the start of the 2018/19 season, with matches tied at 90 minutes going straight to a penalty shoot-out. The 2019 Final will feature extra time and penalties if required.

– The format of penalties will revert to the traditional format, as opposed to the recently trialled ABBA formula, which will no longer feature in EFL competitions.

– VAR will again be utilised in the competition and can be incorporated for all games that are played at Premier League stadiums.

– This season’s Final will take place on Sunday 24 February 2019 with the winners guaranteed a place in the Europa League in the following campaign.

Posted by Vital Lincoln City on Monday, 11 June 2018

Click for the forum
Click for the forum

Your Comment